What We’re Reading

Or, In Which ‘IT Goat’ Hans Enters, Stage Left

Gertie's Ultimate Dress Book - Gretchen HirschThe Beast - J. R. WardWinter - Marissa MeyerBoy, Snow, Bird - Helen Oyeyemi

Saint Anything - Sarah DessenBlauwe maandagen - Arnon GrunbergPolice - Jo NesbøOrphan X - Gregg Hurwitz

Ocean Sea - Alessandro BariccoThe Pale Horseman - Bernard CornwellNoodlanding - Kira WuckZink - David van Reybrouck

Broer - Esther GerritsenComplicated Game - Andy PartridgeCat's Eye - Margaret AtwoodEurope: A History - Norman DaviesLucky Us - Amy Bloom

Lilia:  Gertie’s Ultimate Dress Book.  Not really reading this as a fiction book, of course, but it’s a wonderful reference book.  My fiction book at the moment is The Beast by J. R. Ward.

Iris:  Just finished Winter, the last book in the Lunar Chronicles, and Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi.  Now reading Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. So far so good, although I’m wondering where the story’s gonna go.

JeroenW: Blauwe maandagen by Arnon Grunberg.  Finished it in two days.  I quite like books that don’t have a purpose.

Simone: Police by Jo Nesbø.

Martijn: Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz.  For fans of Lee Child, Terry Hayes, Patrick Lee, etc.

Daniele: I’ve finished Oceano Mare by Italian author Alessandro Baricco in just two days. The English title is Ocean Sea. Great book! Baricco’s language is just marvellous. I have no idea if the English translation matches the Italian, though. What a challenge it must have been for the translator!  After Baricco I started reading The Pale Horseman by Bernard Cornwell (second book in the Last Kingdom series).

Maarten:  During the Dutch Nationale Boekenweek (and to get the free Boekenweekgeschenk) I bought and read Noodlanding by Kira Wuck.  Slightly absurd and slightly tragic stories.  Very good.  I also read the Boekenweekessay, Zink, by David van Reybrouck.  And of course I also read the Boekenweekgeschenk, Broer by Esther Gerritsen, during a long and free train ride on that Sunday.

Hans: …I also enjoyed van Reybrouck’s Boekenweekessay.  Now I’m reading Complicated Game: Inside the Songs of XTC by Andy Partridge.  Very much in the ‘for fans only’ category, and therefore very much for me.

Ester: Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood.

Sophie: Europe: A History by Norman Davies. Because apparently I like big books and I cannot lie.  I’ve been weaving into and out of Europe for a few years, and I will likely take a few years more.  🙂  I also just read Lucky Us by Amy Bloom, for one of my book clubs.  I don’t quite know what to make of it, yet.  Maybe our discussion will help clarify my thoughts a bit.

There are also ebooks available for The Beast, Winter, Boy, Snow, Bird, Saint Anything, Police, Ocean Sea, The Pale Horseman, Cat’s EyeEurope: A History, and Lucky Us.